Run-off elections to be held for District 6 in Bennettsville, McColl council seat

Prince's election certified

  • 7 November 2019
  • Author: Dan McNiel
  • Number of views: 1617

A run-off election will occur Nov. 19 for District 6 Bennettsville Council race and the sixth seat on the McColl council.
The results of the Nov. 5 elections in Bennettsville and McColl were made official Thursday (Nov. 7) by the Bennettsville Election Commission and the Marlboro County Board of Voter Registration office.
In the District 6 city council race, there was no clear majority for the three candidates. After the certification on Thursday, incumbent Bernice Johnson had 56 votes while challengers Thomas Bennett Jr. had 51 and Gregory Scott Sr., 70.
The top two vote-getters Johnson and Scott will be in the run-off on Nov. 19.
Polls will be open from 7 a.m-7 p.m. with voting taking place at the Marlboro County Courthouse.
Voter Registration officials reminded everyone that the runoff is only for voters in District 6. Anyone who voted Nov. 5 can vote along with persons who didn’t vote.
In McColl, voters can vote from 7 a.m-7 p.m. Nov. 19 at the two McColl precincts for Gordon Jones and incumbent Jody C. Stubbs. Both candidates received 283 votes. 
A recount will be held on Friday (Nov. 8). 
In the race for Bennettsville mayor, Dr. Carolyn Prince won with  640 (50.20 percent) votes. JR Chavis had 400 (31.37 percent) and Chris McArthur with 234 (18.35 percent). There was one write-in vote.
In City Council District 2 newcomer Tyrone R. Davis defeated incumbent Wilhelmina Pegues Gladden with 180 votes (65.93 percent) to 93 (34.07 percent).
In City Council District 4, incumbent Jean Quick ran unopposed with 105 votes.
In McColl, Bobby Odom was re-elected as mayor. Odom received 296 votes (49.92 percent) while Ray Grier had 242 (40.81 percent) and 55 votes write-in (9.27 percent).
In the council race, six seats were open. The top vote-getters were incumbent Brian Blue with 386 votes (12.64 percent), Robin Grooms-Clark, 343 votes (11.23 percent), Lynn Kubas, 341 (11.17 percent), incumbent George D. Garner II, 339 (11.10 percent), incumbent RC Cummings, 311 (10.19 percent).

Categories: News